Transgender journalism

Most mainstream news organizations have transgender archives, and most news browsing services have an option to set up keywords for transgender subjects of interest to you.

A number of historic transgender journalism resources may be of interest for historians and archivists.

The outlets below also have consistently good trans-focused reporting.

News outlets

Planet Transgender (planettransgender.com)

  • Good blog coverage of trans news around the world, with original reporting and commentary.

The Advocate (advocate.com/transgender)

  • Original reporting on trans people from the longest-running LGBT news org.

Transgriot (transgriot.blogspot.com)

  • Terrific blog by Monica Roberts with a special focus on trans people of color.

The TransAdvocate (transadvocate.com)

  • Good trans coverage with some well-researched long-form reporting.

them. (them.us)

  • Great queer lifestyle news.

Women Born Transsexual (womenborntranssexual.com)

  • Nice personal blog by Suzan Cooke.

See also groups listed under social media for commentary on trans news topics.

Journalists

Many excellent trans + and genderqueer + journalists are publishing work each day. Here are some of the better-known people (alphabetically). See people who are missing? Send them in!

Samantha Allen (samanthaleighallen.com)

Tre’vell Anderson (muckrack.com/trevell-anderson)

Tatyana Bellamy-Walker (muckrack.com/tatyana-bellamy-walker)

Jennifer Finney Boylan (jenniferboylan.net)

Katelyn Burns (patreon.com/katelynburns)

Kelli Busey (planettransgender.com)

Sophie Cook (sophiecook.me.uk)

T Cooper (t-cooper.com)

Dawn Ennis (lifeafterdawn.com)

Sam H. Escobar (linkedin.com/in/samescobar)

Ina Fried

Henry Giardina (henrygiardina.com)

Gretchen Rachel Hammond (gretchenrachelhammond.com)

  • Twitter: was @gretchhammond

Morgan Lev Edward Holleb (morganholleb.com)

Robyn Kanner (robynkanner.com)

Eden Lane (eden-lane.com)

Paris Lees

Thomas Page McBee (thomaspagemcbee.com)

Janet Mock (janetmock.com)

Jack Monroe (cookingonabootstrap.com)

Monica Roberts (transgriot.blogspot.com)

Danica Roem (delegatedanicaroem.com)

Gwendolyn Ann Smith (gwensmith.com)

Danielle Solzman (solzyatthemovies.com)

Kate Sosin (muckrack.com/kate-sosin)

Meredith Talusan (mtalusan.com)

Brynn Tannehill (brynntannehill.com)

Jacob Tobia (jacobtobia.com)

Diana Tourjee (dianatourjee.com)

Zoey Tur

Evan Urquhart (muckrack.com/evan-urquhart)

India Willoughby

Harron Walker (tinyletter.com/qandhi)

Lewis Raven Wallace (lewispants.com)


Historically significant journalists

  • Leslie Feinberg
  • Jack Bee Garland
  • Jan Morris
  • Philippa York