Transgender journalism

Most large news outlets have transgender archives, and most news browsing services have a way to set up keywords for transgender subjects.

Many historic transgender journalism resources may be of interest for historians and archivists.

The outlets below also have very good trans-focused reporting.

News outlets

Planet Transgender (planettransgender.com)

  • Good blog coverage of trans news around the world, with original reporting and commentary.

The Advocate (advocate.com/transgender)

  • Original reporting on trans people from the longest-running LGBT news org.

Transgriot (transgriot.blogspot.com)

  • Terrific blog by Monica Roberts with a special focus on trans people of color.

The Heroines of My Life (theheroines.blogspot.com)

  • Monika Kowalska’s long-running blog features interviews with hundreds of trans women, including my 2013 interview.

The TransAdvocate (transadvocate.com)

  • Good trans coverage with some well-researched long-form reporting.

them. (them.us)

  • Great queer lifestyle news.

Women Born Transsexual (womenborntranssexual.com)

  • Nice personal blog by Suzan Cooke.

See also groups listed under social media for commentary on trans news topics.

Journalists

Many excellent trans + and genderqueer + journalists are publishing work each day. Here are some of the better-known people (alphabetically). See people who are missing? Send them in!

Samantha Allen (samanthaleighallen.com)

Tre’vell Anderson (muckrack.com/trevell-anderson)

Nicky Bandini (theguardian.com/profile/nicky-bandini)

Tatyana Bellamy-Walker (muckrack.com/tatyana-bellamy-walker)

Jennifer Finney Boylan (jenniferboylan.net)

Katelyn Burns (patreon.com/katelynburns)

Kelli Busey (planettransgender.com)

Sophie Cook (sophiecook.me.uk)

T Cooper (t-cooper.com)

Dawn Ennis (lifeafterdawn.com)

Sam H. Escobar (linkedin.com/in/samescobar)

Ina Fried

Henry Giardina (henrygiardina.com)

Morgan Lev Edward Holleb (morganholleb.com)

Juliet Jacques (julietjacques.com)

Robyn Kanner (robynkanner.com)

Eden Lane (eden-lane.com)

Paris Lees

Thomas Page McBee (thomaspagemcbee.com)

Janet Mock (janetmock.com)

Jack Monroe (cookingonabootstrap.com)

Katherine O’Donnell

Shannon Power

Monica Roberts (transgriot.blogspot.com)

Danica Roem (delegatedanicaroem.com)

Gwendolyn Ann Smith (gwensmith.com)

Danielle Solzman (solzyatthemovies.com)

Kate Sosin (muckrack.com/kate-sosin)

Meredith Talusan (mtalusan.com)

Brynn Tannehill (brynntannehill.com)

Jacob Tobia (jacobtobia.com)

Diana Tourjee (dianatourjee.com)

Zoey Tur

Evan Urquhart (muckrack.com/evan-urquhart)

India Willoughby

Harron Walker (tinyletter.com/qandhi)

Lewis Raven Wallace (lewispants.com)


Historically significant trans journalists

  • Donna Cartwright
  • Leslie Feinberg
  • Jack Bee Garland
  • Jan Morris
  • Philippa York