Skip to content

Heterodox Academy vs. transgender people

Heterodox Academy (HxA) is an American organization that promotes “viewpoint diversity” in academia, by which they mean conservatism and reactionary populism.

HxA frequently promotes anti-transgender activists, including Alice Dreger, Jesse Singal, J. Michael Bailey, Katie Herzog, Glenn C. Loury, John McWhorter, Matthew Yglesias, Carole Hooven, Kathleen Lowrey, Jonathan Haidt, Lee Jussim, David Buss, Elizabeth Weiss, Kathleen Richardson, Michèle Sirois, Silvia Carrasco, John McWhorter, Heather Heying, and Steven Pinker.


In 2011, Jonathan Haidt complained in a speech about lack of conservative representation on campus. In 2015, Haidt was invited to make the same complaint at the Federalist Society. The HxA website was launched in 2015 with these members:

  • Gerard Alexander (political science) University of Virginia
  • John Chambers (psychology)
  • Jarret Crawford (psychology) The College of New Jersey
  • Judith Curry (climate science) Georgia Institute of Technology
  • José Duarte (psychology) Arizona State University
  • Joshua Dunn (political science) University of Colorado at Colorado Springs
  • Jonathan Haidt (psychology) NYU-Stern School of Business
  • Lee Jussim (psychology) Rutgers University
  • April Kelly-Woessner (political science) Elizabethtown College
  • Dan Klein (economics) George Mason University
  • Scott Lilienfeld (psychology) Emory University
  • Chris Martin (sociology) Emory University
  • John McGinnis (law) Northwestern University School of Law
  • Steven Pinker (psychology) Harvard University
  • Rich Redding (law; psychology) Chapman University
  • Nicholas Rosenkranz (law) Georgetown University Law Center
  • Jon Shields (political science) Claremont McKenna College
  • Charlotta Stern (sociology) Stockholm University
  • Phil Tetlock (psychology) University of Pennsylvania, Wharton School of Business
  • Matthew Woessner (public policy) Penn State Harrisburg
  • George Yancey (sociology) University of North Texas



  • Jonathan Haidt
  • Nicholas Quinn Rosenkranz
  • Chris C. Martin

Board of Directors

  • Jonathan Haidt, Chairman
  • Steven Laub, Treasurer
  • Tony Banout
  • Jeffrey S. Flier
  • Kathleen O’Connor
  • Kate Stith

Advisory Council

  • Xav de Souza Briggs
  • David A. Brooks
  • Taffye Benson Clayton
  • Nicholas A. Christakis
  • Ronald A. Crutcher
  • Alice Dreger
  • Robert P. George
  • Diane F. Halpern
  • Pano Kanelos
  • Randall Kennedy
  • Glenn C. Loury
  • Irshad Manji
  • Lynn Pasquerella
  • Eboo Patel
  • Judith R. Shapiro
  • Richard A. Shweder
  • Nadine Strossen
  • Cornel West


  • John Tomasi, President
  • Michael Regnier, Executive Director
  • Christine Richards, Director of Membership
  • Kyle Vitale, Director of Programs
  • Nicole Barbaro, Director of Comms and Marketing
  • Musa al-Gharbi, Daniel Bell Research Fellow
  • Mary-Lynn Hearn, Operations Manager
  • Michael Dinsmore, Donor Relations Manager
  • Alice Dreger, Managing Editor
  • Malik Peacock, Development Specialist
  • Oscar Avendano, Communications Associate
  • Steven Zhou, Data Analyst
  • John Fernandes, Development Associate

Members and staff

  • Richard Sander
  • Marisa Hart, event manager
  • Oscar Avendano
  • Elizabeth Weiss
  • Alexandre Linhares
  • Alexander Arnold
  • Adam Gjesdal
  • Martha McCaughey
  • Bethany Boucher
  • Tony Banout
  • B. Duncan Moench
  • Jillian Lederman


Mikics, David (July 21, 2019). The High Priest of HeterodoxyTablet

Beauchamp, Zack (August 31, 2018). The myth of a campus free speech crisisVox [archive]

Quintana, Chris (April 30, 2018). The Real Free-Speech Crisis Is Professors Being Disciplined for Liberal Views, a Scholar FindsThe Chronicle of Higher Education [archive


Heterodox Academy (

  • About us (membership list 2015-2017) [archive]
  • Members (since 2018) [archive]

Twitter (

LinkedIn (

Facebook (

Instagram (

YouTube (