Historic transgender online resources

Transgender websites are difficult to maintain over time. The projects and platforms below have been important transgender community online resources. Many became dormant or went offline.

Before World Wide Web

Bulletin Board Services (BBS)

Before the World Wide Web in the 1990s, several privately maintained bulletin boards were available online. Prominent ones maintained by our community included:

  • AEGIS (AIDS Education General Information System)
  • Alternatives
  • Carolyn’s Closet
  • Cross Connection
  • Cross-Link
  • Different Realities
  • The Diva Connection
  • Educational TV Channel
  • Feminet
  • GDANC/GDATN
  • GenderNet
  • The Honey Board BBS
  • IXE BBS (Indiana Crossdressers Society)
  • The Jersey Shore System
  • Lambda Conference (ECHO)
  • Lifetime BBS
  • Lunatic Fringe BBS
  • The Other Side
  • Puss N Boots
  • Rainbow Gender Association
  • Satin & Lace
  • Searchlight of San Luis Obispo
  • TCNE BBS (Tiffany Club of New England)
  • TGNet
  • Transitions BBS
  • Tri-Ess BBS (The Sigma Epsilon and Kappa Beta chapters of The Society for the Second Self Tri-Ess)
  • TV/TS Gender Forum
  • US TOO (United Sisterhood of Transsexual Outreach Organizations)

CompuServe

  • One of the first major services
  • Human Sexuality Forum
    • Genderline

Prodigy

  • Frank Discussions

GEnie

  • GEnie Girls

AOL

  • This was a driving force in early online resources, the most user-friendly service
  • Chat rooms for real-time text conversations
  • Transgender Community Forum and file storage
  • User-friendly web page software (members.aol.com)

USENET

  • It’s impossible to overstate the historical significance of USENET for developing the online transgender community. The two main groups were:
    • soc.support.transgendered
    • alt.support.srs

Web-based

Top-level domains became widely available in the mid-1990s. These “dot-com” sites and forums are still online but have not been updated recently.

Dallas Denny (dallasdenny.com)

  • One of the great keepers of our community’s collected wisdom.

Lynn Conway (lynnconway.com)

Jennifer Diane Reitz (transsexual.org)

  • A wonderful early resource with the first playful design.

Madeline Wyndzen (genderpsychology.org)

  • Great information from a gender-fluid academic psychologist.

Anne Vitale (avitale.com)

  • Therapist with decades of experience helping trans people.

Melanie Anne Phillips (heartcorps.com/journeys)

  • One of the inspirations for my own transition and for this site.

Aunt Jenny (antijen.org)

  • One of the best early advocates for trans youth.

Melinda Green (superliminal.com/melinda)

Renee Reyes (reneereyes.com)

  • Resources and first-hand reports

Pauline Park – NYAGRA (transgenderrights.org)

  • New York-based legislative activist with local resources.

MyTransHealth (mytranshealth.com)

  • Selected legal and medical listings for New York, Miami, Chicago, San Francisco, Dallas, & Seattle, curated by Kade Clark, Amelia Gapin and Robyn Kanner.

The Looking Glass Society (looking-glass.greenend.org.uk)

  • UK-based resources for trans youth.

Donna Rose (donnarose.com)

  • American author, podcaster, and activist.

Carla Antonelli (carlaantonelli.com)

  • Spanish politician and activist.

GenderTalk (gendertalk.com)

  • Long-running American radio program by Gordene MacKenzie and Nancy Nangeroni.

GenderWellness (genderwellness.org)

  • Early resource by OutReach LGBT Community Center in Madison, Wisconsin

Alison (nuttycats.com)

  • UK-based forum.

GID.info (hemingways.org/GIDinfo)

  • UK-based information.

Transgender ASIA (transgenderasia.org)

  • English-language Asian resources by Sam Winter.

Transgender Europe (tgeu.net)

  • EU-based information.

Phyllis Randolph Frye (transgenderlegal.com)

  • American lawyer, activist, and jurist.

Nicole Hamilton (hamiltonlabs.com)

  • First-hand transition reports

Trans Academics (trans-academics.org)

  • Scholarly topics with forum and mailing list
  • http://groups.google.com/group/Trans-Academics

Website hosting services

Hosting websites, especially those with images, was very expensive in the 1990s, so many trans people used services that allowed users to create free webpages. Popular options included:

GeoCities (geocitiesarchive.org)

Tripod (members.tripod.com)

AOL [as part of subscription] (members.aol.com/username)

Angelfire (angelfire.com)

Yahoo (members.yahoo.com)

Mindspring (mindspring.com/~username)

Earthlink (earthlink.net/~username)

Offline

Many of these are available via archive.org. If you remember an important site that’s offline, send it in!

  • Intelligence Engineering stents (intelleng.com)
  • TGWorld (tgworld.org)
  • Confluence (savina.com/confluence/hormone)
  • Julia A. “Julie” Case – Gender Web (genderweb.org)
  • Perette Barella – Sex Change Indigo Pages (servtech.com/public/perette/Sc/sexchange.html)
  • V – Hormone FAQ (savina.com)
  • Michelle Wallace – Post-Operative Transsexual Survey (pacificnet.net/~mwallace)
  • Rebecca Allison (drbecky.com)
  • Matt Kailey (tranifesto.com)
  • Nick Gorton (nickgorton.org)
  • Kara Flynn (members.aol.com/karaflynntg)
  • Sara – TS Info (tsinfo.freehomepage.com)
  • Kelly (genderandtransition.com)
  • Diane (drdouglasousterhout.com)
  • Amy (amynews.com)
  • Andrea (avonk.com)
  • Alexandra Hamer (virtualffs.co.uk)
  • Teresa (beginninglife.com) [FFS page archive]
  • Beginning Life Forums (beginninglifeforums.com
  • Heather Jean Lamborn (heathers.net)
  • Diane Wilson (dianewilson.us/gender/)
  • TransGenderCare (transgendercare.com)
  • Jillian T. Weiss (transworkplace.ning.com)
  • TSVoice (tsvoice.com)
  • gender.org
  • April (soylentmean.livejournal.com)
  • Madeleine Williams (cinematter.com)
  • Transray (transray.com)
  • Gender Advocacy Internet News
  • Transe-Generation (transe-generation.com)
  • Emily Hobbie (genderpeace.com)
  • Annie Richards (secondtype.com • anniesrichards.tripod.com • transwoman.tripod.com)
  • TG Life Forums (tglifeforums.com)
  • What Is Transgender? (whatisgender.net/forum)
  • Sally’s Resource Morsel (tsresource.info)
  • Genderlife Forum (genderlife.com/forum)
  • Tranny Web (trannyweb.com)
  • TransgenderPoint (tgpoint.com)
  • eTransgender (etransgender.com)
  • Strap-on (Strap-on.org)
  • Jamie Faye Fenton (transgender.org)
  • JoAnn Roberts (cdspub.com)
  • TransActive (transactiveonline.org)
  • Transcend Ireland (transcendireland.myfreeforum.org)
  • Australian Transsexual Support Network (atsnaustralia.org)
  • FTM Australia (ftmaustralia.org)
  • Ausgender (ausgender.com.au)
  • Canberra Transgender Network (canberratransgendernetwork.webs.com)
  • Carrousel Club of South Australia (carrouselclubofsouthaustralia.com.au)
  • Chameleon Society (chameleonswa.org)
  • Carmen Rupe Memorial Trust (carmenrupe.org)
  • Terri Main (emergenceministries.org)
  • Jade Catherine Devlin (tgchristian.humanfish.net)
  • Sequoia Blessed (sequoiablessed.info)
  • Lee Frances Heller Love Letter aka the Grace & Lace Letter (hometown.aol.com/GnLNews)
  • Leyla’s Chayhane (geocities.com/leylasuhagi)
  • Zoey’s Hope (zoeshope.googlepages.com)
  • Authentikate (authentikate.com)
  • The Interfaith Working Group (iwgonline.org)
  • Interweave Continental (interweavecontinental.org)
  • The Temple of Cybele (cybele2.com)
  • TransFM (transfm.org)
    • The Talking Tranny – Susan Moses (talkingtranny.com)
    • Trannywreck – Rebecca Marie Nay (trannywreck.com)
    • The Radical Trannies – Ethan and Karen St. Pierre
    • TransPhilly Radio – Stasha Goliaszewski (transphillyradio.org)
  • Katrina Rose (katrinarose.com)
  • Gianna E. Israel (counselsuite.com)
  • Gender Matters (gender-matters.org.uk)
  • National Trans Police Association (ntpa.org.uk)
  • T House (t-house.me)
  • Transkids (transkids.synthasite.com)
  • Trans Care Trust (transhelp.net.nz)
  • Canadian Transsexual Fight For Rights (ctffr.org)
  • The International Transsexual Sisterhood (the-sisterhood.net)
  • Karen Gurney & Kate Clarke W-O-M-A-N Network (w-o-m-a-n.net)
  • Australian Transsexual Support Network (atsnaustralia.org)
  • Society of Transsexual Women of the Philippines – STRAP (m2fstrap.org)
  • Transgender Taiwan (transgender-taiwan.org)
  • Transgender in Thailand (home.att.net/~leela2)
  • European TS (europeants.org)
  • Disforia de Genero (disforiadegenero.org)
  • Gay Lesbian International Therapist Search Engine – GLITSE (glitse.com)
  • Kay Brown (transhistory.org • transhistory.net)
  • Danielle Nika Askini (nikaaskini.com)
  • Joanne Herman (joanneherman.com)
  • Gallery of Goddesses (geocities.com/WestHollywood/Park/9200 • escape.to/tsvalhalla)
  • Just Evelyn (justevelyn.com)
  • Vancouver Trans Advocacy Group – VanTAG (vantag.org)
  • Gender Odyssey Family (genderodysseyfamily.com)
  • Youth Resource (youthresource.com) http://www.youthresource.com/feat/trans/art_health.htm
  • TransProud (transproud.org)
  • Nika Askini (nikaaskini.com)
  • Crystalline Phoenix Group (crystallinephoenixgroup.com)
  • TransAlba Transsexual Support (transalba.org)
  • LAMBDA (lambda.org)
  • Amberspace (amberspace.net)
  • Lynn (tglynnsplace.com)
  • Chloe Prince (pinkessence.com)
  • Julie Simpson (ozemail.com.au/~ghostv/JuliesHomePage.htm)
  • Andrea Bennett (mindspring.com/~arblaw)
  • TGNOW.com (tgnow.com)
  • ABGender.com (abgender.com)
  • Transparentcy (transparentcy.org)
  • Over The Rainbow (overtherainbow.org.au)
  • Caitlin H. (road-less-traveled.com)
  • DaleLynn Sims (kindredspiritlakeside.homestead.com)
  • Ruby’s Journal (rtaylor36.tripod.com)
  • Transgender Cafe (transgendercafe.com)
  • Transgender Cafe (mts.net/~wtsg/legal.htm)
  • GenderPAC (gpac.org)
  • Transadvice (transadvice.org)
    • TG Help and Support (tghelps.org)
    • TSSupport (tssupport.org)
  • Lynn’s Place (lynnsplace.ca)
  • Victoria Renee Weiss (geocities.com/renee_ga)
  • National Transgender Advocacy Coalition (ntac.org)
  • Caitlin H (catatwaldenpond.com)
  • Astrid Johannsen (earthlink.net/~phaistos)
  • Sex Change Indigo Pages
    • wolfandturtle.net/Indigo
    • myria.home.mindspring.com/Indigo
    • indigowiki.info/wiki/

Controversial dormant/offline sites

  • Crissy Wild (crissywild.com)
  • Albany Clinic (albany-gender-clinic.com)
  • Transkids (transkids.us)
  • Anne Lawrence (annelawrence.com)
  • The Autogynephilia Resource (autogynephilia.org)

Merged or moved sites

  • lauras-playground.com merged to transgenderpulse.com
  • tssupport.com merged to transadvice.org
  • tsroadmap.com merged to transgendermap.com
  • transfaithonline.org moved to transfaith.info
  • intersexualite.org rebuilt at oiiinternational.com

Yahoo and Google Groups

Yahoo was the group forum service of choice prior to the advent of Facebook. Many of the major groups are no longer available.

Yahoo Groups (groups.yahoo.com)

  • Use the search feature for specific topics.

Yahoo Groups of historical interest include:

NYAGRA mailing list

Transsexual UK

Facial Feminization Surgery

Transsistahs-Transbrothas

  •  Focused on people of African descent
  • http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Transsistahs-Transbrothas (original link)

Trans Theory

Web social media

Social media platforms became the service of choice for many trans people beginning around 2003. They allowed easy creation of profiles and content, as well as ways to connect. Major ones include:

  • Classmates
  • LiveJournal
  • Friendster
  • LinkedIn
  • Myspace
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo 360
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr
  • Google+
  • YouTube
  • Vimeo
  • Pinterest
  • Reddit

Mobile social media

  • WhatsApp
  • Foursquare
  • Snapchat
  • Instagram
  • TikTok
  • Discord

Resources

Queer Digital History Project (queerdigital.com)

  • Avery Dame-Griff’s site documents pre-2010 LGBTQ digital spaces online.

Transgender USENET Archive (mith.umd.edu/research/transgender-usenet-archive)

  • Another important contribution by Avery Dame-Griff.