National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine (NASEM) is an American scientific academy founded in 1863. Membership is based on votes from peers and is highly selective.

Transgender scientists have been named to academies affiliated with NASEM.

In 2003, their publishing arm National Academies Press (NAP) published the anti-transgender book The Man Who Would Be Queen under their Joseph Henry Press imprint. Key figures in that controversy included NAP employees Stephen Mautner, Barbara Kline Pope, and Jeffrey Robbins. None of them confirmed the existence of Danny Ryan, the child whose case report frames the book.


NASEM comprises three membership organizations and the national Research Council.

National Academy of Sciences (NAS)

National Academy of Engineering (NAE)

National Academy of Medicine (NAM)

National Research Council (NRC)

  • Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education
  • Division of Earth and Life Studies
  • Division of Engineering and Physical Sciences
  • Health and Medicine Division
  • Policy and Global Affairs Division
  • Transportation Research Board
  • Gulf Research Program
  • National Academies Press


National Academies Press (