Gender transition information for young people

Gender Spectrum (genderspectrum.org)

  • US-based group with the best information.

The Trevor Project (thetrevorproject.org)

  • Crisis and suicide prevention hotline.
  • 24/7 hotline: 866-488-7386 
  • Text “START” to 678678
  • Chat options available as well

Trans Lifeline (translifeline.org)

GLSEN (glsen.org)

  • LGBTQ Youth resources.

Trans Student Educational Resources (transstudent.org)

  • Trans and gender nonconforming youth resources.

Trans* Teen Project (transteenproject.org)

GSA Network (gsanetwork.org)

  • Trans and queer youth support groups.

PFLAG (pflag.org)

Lambda Legal (lambdalegal.org)

  • Bending the Mold: An action kit for transgender students (PDF)

Camp Aranu’tiq (camparanutiq.org)

TransYouth Family Allies (imatyfa.org)

Trans Youth Equality Foundation (transyouthequality.org)

Transkids Purple Rainbow Foundation (transkidspurplerainbow.org)

Gender Diversity (genderdiversity.org)

Campus Pride (campuspride.org)

United Kingdom

Safe Schools Coalition (safeschoolscoalition.org)

  • UK-based group of young trans people.
  • A guide for young trans people in the UK (PDF)

Australia

Twenty 10 (twenty10.org.au)

  • Australian youth advocates
  • GQ (gender questioning) (PDF)

New Zealand

RainbowYOUTH (ry.org.nz)

  • New Zealand youth advocates.

Note: This page is intended for young people ages 13 and above.